Ordinary

Going downtown on the bus

 

It’s funny how after I had my daughter the first word that I use to describe myself is mother. It’s a word that sounds so ordinary to many. Surely, I can think of other qualities about myself that are worth mentioning but for me, mother, is the most important one.

I am a mother. There are millions of us out there so maybe to many it seems rather ordinary and not particularly special. The truth is though that at the end of the day, nothing else could be more important. No other word I use could possibly trump the ordinary mother.  I have a little girl who loves unconditionally. A little girl who is wild and dramatic, yet so kind and caring. She shows endless compassion for others and there is no doubt in my mind that she is my greatest success. No degree or position I earn will overshadow the title of ordinary mother because it’s this position that gives me the most extraordinary pleasures and heartaches I will ever experience.

And luckily for me, it doesn’t feel so ordinary.

Five Minute Friday

4 thoughts on “Ordinary

  1. So true. Since our daughter was born, I’ve become “Anna’s dad.” It’s the best title and job I’ve ever had. And I love the picture! My wife and daughter have a similar one of them up on the fridge—so cute!

    1. Thanks! It’s one of my favorites of us taking an adventurous bus ride downtown. 🙂
      It is funny how we lose our own names. I think half the time I forget to use my name when introducing myself now and go by my “title” of “Tanis’s mom” instead.

Leave a comment